April 23, 2024, 02:07:13 AM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - diceman

Pages: [1]
Alternative Play / Another Drafting-Method (maybe good, maybe not so)
« on: November 30, 2013, 07:40:57 AM »
There's another similar Drafting Method already out there, however, with the one I came up with, you won't be passing decks back and forth between players, such being able to monitor which cards your opponent took. Tell me, what you think of it: :)

First, shuffle the Mage-Cards, each Player draws one. Put the others aside without looking at them. Now look at the card you drew: this is the caracter you will be building a Spellbook for. Or, alternatively, if you have two Core-Sets available, each Player may choose his Mage (secretely).

Seperate all the cards into Categories: Creatures, Equipment, Attacks, Enchantments, Incantations, Conjurations. Shuffle each deck. Then work through all the Categories, using the following rules:

1. Deal 10 cards to each player.
2. Each Player chooses 5, then puts the other 5 on a discard pile.
3. If at one point there aren't enough cards on the pile left to deal 10 cards to each player, shuffle the remaining cards with the discard pile.
3. Repeat Steps 1+2 (and 3) for each category, until each player has a certain amount of cards: Creatures (20), Attacks (15),  Equipment (15), Enchantments (25), Incantations (25), Conjurations (20) = 120 cards.

Now build your Spellbook according to the rules, by throwing out cards you don't need/can't use. Best/fastest way to do this, is by counting your maximum Spellpoints for each category seperately, then write them down, then start to calculate.

Haven't had the chance to test this yet, though.  ::)
So chances are, this method may suck (or might be optimized). ;)

Frequently Asked Questions / Updated FAQ (November 2013)
« on: November 30, 2013, 04:31:02 AM »
1.) Shouldn't the release of the new FAQs be announced on the main page? After all, this is BIG News. Good Job and Thanks for this, Arcane Wonders-Team! :)
2.) Is it only me, or is the Search Function (STRG+F) within the OfficialFAQ.pdf kinda weird/fubar a.k.a. doesn't really work (no matter if I use it online or browsing the downloaded version)? :o Well, it's no big deal since I'm planning to print this out, anyway, but for a fast access during online discussions it would be nice if it'd actually work like a Search Function is supposed to work.

Spells / Teleportation Trap
« on: November 30, 2013, 03:11:36 AM »
I need LoS to the zone I'm targetting, so much is clear. However, the card says, upon revealing Teleportation Trap, that I may choose a zone that's up to 2 zones off. Now is that 2 zones off of my Mage, or 2 zones off from the Trap? And do I need LoS to the zone I'm teleporting the creature to, as well? I couldn't find any additional (hidden) info on the card helping me with this issue, since also the Rules only mention LoS in regards to casting the spell. And Revealing <> Casting.
Thanks! :)

Rules Discussion / Playing a card during Ready Stage ...
« on: November 24, 2013, 11:57:42 AM »
Uuh, I just thought of something, maybe I'm a little slow and this is pretty obvious to you guys, but nevertheless I wanted to make sure whether this would be a legal move (somehow I doubt it):

The Rules clearly state, that cards that you haven't played this round, come back into the book at the beginning of the next Planning-Phase. Now I wonder why this is emphasized so much. Why then, and not at the end of the round (which would be a far more obvious rule)? Or is it perhaps because after I'll get new Mana in the next Channeling Phase I may flip my Quickcast-Marker in the Ready Stage to play that certain card, which is still lying before me?

Or maybe I'm just paranoid; still, up until now, for everything written in the Rules there was a reason, why it was spelled out exactly the way it was. So in this certain case it just struck me as odd, that they would emphasize a tiny (otherwise pretty obvious) detail this much.

Rules Discussion / Battle Fury (retarget?)
« on: November 22, 2013, 10:13:05 AM »
I think I already answered my own question, I just wanted to make sure: that extra Melee-Attack I get with BATTLE RAGE, must I use this on the same creature I've already attacked, or am I allowed to retarget? Should be legal, right?

General Discussion / Mage Wars: intriguing, but also hard to get into
« on: November 22, 2013, 08:00:45 AM »
Don't get me wrong, I really, really, really like the game, I also think it's pretty unique and really deep, but I also don't think it's that intuitive as most reviewers make it seem to be. As a person who is more used to Euro-style of Games it's sometimes hard for me to dedicate so much time into actually grasping every little detail of the rules, instead of, you know, just playing it. Actually I think that there are a lot (and I mean a LOT) of exceptions to various rules depending on various situations which make various mechanics very muddy and hard to understand. This game is hardcore (and I don't mean that in a necessarily derogative sense). What I mean is: you don't just sit down and play MAGE WARS. Getting the game and playing it, is like signing an obligation that you're willing to really dig into it. You can play 10 games and still stumble upon a situation, where just paging through the Codex won't help you and you have to go online (great Forum, btw., you guys are a very nice and helpful bunch), or you notice afterwards, that you forgot this tiny rule, forgot to flip that marker, whatever.

So, just curious:
How many matches do you actually have to play, until you're sure that you're doing it right? How long did it take you until you moved through the game's various phases fluently and didn't get stalled by rule-discussions anymore?

Cheers.  :)

Rules Discussion / Does Rot-Condition remove Sleep-Condition?
« on: November 22, 2013, 06:40:24 AM »
Another issue that came up during last nights game:
Say, a creature, who has ROT cast on it, receives a SLEEP-condition during its turn. Wouldn't, during Upkeep, the 1 point of direct damage caused by ROT remove the SLEEP-condition? The rules don't clearly state, that it always needs to be an attack to wake the creature; they only mention damage.
Thanks. :)

Rules Discussion / Hawkeye on Asyran Cleric?
« on: November 20, 2013, 11:49:52 AM »
Hey guys, I just wondered whether the following move would be viable:

The Asyran Cleric's Special Ability (Heal) has a ranged Symbol. The question is, whether it's also considered an Attack, because then I might be allowed to cast HAWKEYE (Ranged +1) on him to get an additional die-roll when using his Special Ability to heal other creatures.

Thanks! :)

Alternative Play / Variant where Spellbook fills up during the game
« on: November 05, 2013, 12:47:55 AM »
Hello everyone, new to this forum, new to MAGE WARS (recently got hooked on the German Version, which has been released on the Boardgame-Fair in Essen).
Here's a variant I thought of, haven't had the opportunity to test it yet, though, so I'm eager to hear what you guys think of it.
The idea is, that you don't start with your whole Spellbook available from the start, but it'll fill up during the course of the game. For this idea we'll need a new stat, I'll call it "Intelligence", which in the beginning for each Mage is 5 (keep track of it with a couple of dice).

- Intelligence determines, how many cards there may be in your spellbook.
- So, in the beginning, each Mage shuffles his Spellbook-deck and draws 5 cards. As an initial action you may discard 1,2,3 or all cards and draw new ones. Shuffle the deck anew, put these 5 cards in your Spellbook.
- Make your turns.
- In the end, right before the Initiative-Marker switches players, Intelligence goes up +1 for both Mages.
- Now, as a new initial Phase, both Mages fill up their Spellbook according to the new Intelligence-value, so now both start the new round with 6 cards in their spellbook, and so on.
Besides, this could also be a good way to introduce the game to new Players, since on your first try you'll get easily overwhelmed by all the options available.

Now there's a couple of variants you can introduce to this style of gameplay:

- At the end of a round Intelligence doesn't go up +1, but the player with the Initiative rolls a 6-sided Attack-Die:
- Blank: Intelligence stays / 1: Intelligence +1 / 2: Intelligence +2
- Critical Hits count as a simple 1 or 2
- Roll counts for both Players.

Or, if you'd like a bit of Competitive Risk and Randomness, try this one:

- At the end of a round, the Player with the Initiative rolls a 6-sided die.
- Blank: Intelligence stays for both players / Normal Hit: Intelligence increases accordingly for both Players / Critical Hit: Value only counts for the Player with the Initiative, the other Player gets one less (2 = 1 or 1 = 0).

Pages: [1]