April 28, 2024, 02:34:16 PM

Author Topic: My thought on Seedling Pods  (Read 29268 times)

Wise fool

• Jr. Mage
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
My thought on Seedling Pods
« on: April 28, 2014, 08:07:42 PM »
Howdy!  I'm new to the game and new to the boards, but I'm definitely hooked on MW!  Even though I've played a total of 3 games, I thought I'd take the opportunity to shoot my big mouth off.  Seriously though, I love the amount of discussion this game generates. 

The contrarian in me wants to find uses for cards that are maligned, and I had a thought about seedling pod.  The knock against them is they don't generally live long enough to earn back the mana you burned in creating them.  To which I say... so what?  You'd burn 2+2 mana on a block to stave off an attack on your mage, but you won't spend a measly two mana (2 with a leaf ring) on a spell that may save you some mana in the long run and in exchange you might get to summon a creature on a later turn (a full action) for what cost you a quick action?  If my opponent is wasting time stepping on seedling pods that's time they're not stepping on my mage.  Sure, there's the psychological pain of losing the mana that stacks on them if it doesn't make it to round 3, but isn't that really just bait?  And if they're not squashed, you've traded a quick action for a full round action if you do manage to summon something.  This is just an idle theory for now (one which I plan to test next chance I get).

Just wanted to say, I think this is a really great forum.  I've never seen the game of Go compared to another board game before, nor have I seen such in an in depth comparison involving the Art of War with another board game.  I hope Mage Wars continues to prosper in the future.

Aylin

• Sr. Mage
  • Banana Stickers 4
    • View Profile
Re: My thought on Seedling Pods
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2014, 10:52:45 AM »