April 25, 2024, 09:29:58 AM

Author Topic: Advice on building a strong play group.  (Read 4358 times)

silverclawgrizzly

• Charlotte Mage Warrior
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • Banana Stickers 4
    • View Profile
Advice on building a strong play group.
« on: September 09, 2014, 06:39:37 PM »
I was talking with Lord of Winter and we figured it'd be good if I posted advice from my own experiences building a play group. I believe the term here is "meta" which I'd never heard before. Anyway I started playing in January literally by accident, and right now we've got a strong community here in my town(Charlotte NC) and it's growing still. Here's how we did it, what resources we had, and how you may be able to do the same. Number one complaint I hear is "I don't get too play that much because the numbers in my area..." Ok lets fix that :)

1. Play the game. Play it at comic/gaming stores, play it on the campuses of local schools, play it at conventions, play Mage Wars where other people can see you. This is obviously easier if you have at least one person to play with but if need be go to those stores and ask the owner to play you. People see you having a good time playing a new game they haven't heard of and they think "Hey I want to have a good time! Why haven't I heard of this amazing game? I better go learn!"

2. Sign up as an Ambassador. AW is in the process of getting that system really up and running smoothly and you'd be amazed what resources you can have at your disposal once you're in if you just ask. Sign up to be an ambassador, then call or e-mail them and get yourself approved. Hey have your FLGS back you on it!