April 20, 2024, 03:15:14 AM

Author Topic: THE ARENA OF EPIC ROLEPLAYERS  (Read 2970 times)

Sailor Vulcan

• Secret Identity: Imaginator
  • Legendary Mage
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
THE ARENA OF EPIC ROLEPLAYERS
« on: November 21, 2013, 09:42:12 PM »
So oftentimes I've had the experience where I start out the game imagining myself as the mage I'm playing, and then over the course of the game my imagination shifts from the perspective of a mage and the spells under his/her control to merely a birds eye view of the entire arena with the mage as just another creature under my control, rather than being me in the mage's shoes.

I love theme and I love strategy, and I don't like sacrificing one for the other. While this could be solved just by playing a mage that I really love and relate to, as a writer I feel that all of the mages can be relatable characters.

It's a grueling process to keep referring back to OCTGN game logs over and over again as I write a story about a Mage Wars fight. I ideally want to make the story as I play without detracting from strategy. But I don't want to make the planning phases drag out forever with narration either.

My solution is to make a sort-of alternate format specifically designed for making a beautifully written, EPIC record of your arena fight without all the hassle of waiting until the end of the fight and going over the game log again and again, or worse getting disconnected after forgetting to copy and paste the game log into a word document.

Here's how it works:

1. the Scenario

Why are the mages fighting in the arena? Who or what are they fighting for? What's at stake in their battle? (other than their lives, anyway)
This can include some character background. Also, you need to design your character around your spellbook design, so that they fit together.

2. The Narrator and the Expression/Dialogue step