March 28, 2024, 05:38:59 AM

Author Topic: Suggestions for Playing Apprentice Warlock vs Beastmaster?  (Read 7032 times)

ApprenticeWarlock

• New Mage
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Suggestions for Playing Apprentice Warlock vs Beastmaster?
« on: August 17, 2013, 10:22:58 PM »
Hi,

I'm relatively new to the game. My friend and I are still playing with the apprentice spellbooks. I'm wondering if anyone on here has any suggestions for going up against the Beastmaster with the Warlock. Looking through his book it seems like his equipment is his main strength. My plan right now is to get out a couple of Mana Crystals and the Battle Forge, then equip every piece of equipment in his book over the next couple turns. Hellfire Lash with the Fire Ring and his +1 innate in melee gives him six dice with a burn chance! That seems pretty good. The problem I see is my mage then becomes a big target for things like Tanglevines, so I think it would be good to summon at least one creature first so I can still do stuff while breaking out of vines. I'm thinking either two Skeletal Sentries (good value for mana cost) or one of the Demons with four dice and Piercing +2 (I forget their name). How does this plan sound?

ringkichard

• Flightless Funpire
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Kich, if you prefer.
    • View Profile
Re: Suggestions for Playing Apprentice Warlock vs Beastmaster?
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2013, 11:16:03 AM »
Howdy, welcome to the forums! I noticed that your question slipped through the cracks a bit, but never fear, we'll help ya' out as best we're able. I have to go earn some money right at the moment, but I'll get back to ya' I promise.  :)
I can take the fun out of anything. It's true; here, look at this spreadsheet.

sIKE

• Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Ugh
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2013, 11:22:50 AM »