April 28, 2024, 06:14:13 PM

Author Topic: Battle Forge: My play is bad and I should feel bad  (Read 4845 times)

zaprowsdower

• New Mage
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Battle Forge: My play is bad and I should feel bad
« on: April 12, 2013, 12:54:12 PM »
I am a newbie player, I've only played a few times. I like the Warlock, I've used him twice and lost both times. The card that mystifies me is Battle Forge. Are most players using it to cast cheap items, like Leather Gloves or fireshaper Ring? Or are you waiting around for it to cast Lash of Hellfire or Helm of Fear? So far it hasn't done much of anything for me. It may just be that I'm too impatient to wait 10 turns for it to cast something. I do have a tendency to get Helm of Fear and Lash on then charge right at the enemy. It could be I'm waiting too long, but in one game my son was playing Beastmaster and before Battle Forge did anything him and his portable zoo were in my face. Any thoughts are welcome, just passing time at work.
BTW best game I've played in years, I absolutely love it. I can't even play any other boardgames now because they pale in comparison to the greatness of Mage Wars!

pixelgeek

• Global Moderator
  • Sr. Mage
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
    • Zac's Gaming Blog
Re: Battle Forge: My play is bad and I should feel bad
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2013, 12:58:53 PM »
You don't need to wait until you have all the required Mana to pay for the item. You can use the Mana from Battle Forge to just supplement the cost of a piece of equipment. Or Harmonize it and then wait a turn or two to build more mana to make equipment even cheaper.
  • Favourite Mage: Adramelech Warlock
Arcane Wonders Web Guy
Problem with the forums or website?

Send me a PM

Words to live by: I commit strongly to defending my wand.   Precisely so that I don't lose it.

Shad0w

• Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2013, 01:26:39 PM »