Revealing enchantment without paying its reveal cost

Started by Kaarin, June 19, 2018, 04:45:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kaarin

Does it still count as revealing an enchantment for purposes of 'whenever your Mage casts or reveals a xx spell' effects?
QuoteThe second cost, next to the open eye, is the reveal cost, which
you may pay when the spell is revealed. When an enchantment is
revealed, if the reveal cost is not paid, because you can’t pay it or
choose not to, the spell is destroyed immediately without effect.
OCTGN: Wstrzasniety (UTC+2)

RomeoXero

 No. Under those circumstances the spell does not resolve and it would be destroyed with no effect.
I love this game. Its awesome!

Kaarin

I'm not asking about effect of the enchantment but other spell that has 'whenever your Mage casts or reveals a xx spell' effect.
OCTGN: Wstrzasniety (UTC+2)

Puddnhead

The spell has to resolve in order to trigger those effects. So, no, it doesn't work. Romeo is just explaining why it doesn't work.

Zuberi

I'm having trouble thinking of a situation in which this would matter and am curious what you're thinking about to give this more context. As is, I think the most complete answer would be to point you towards the steps for revealing an enchantment in the Supplement. They rarely matter, to the point that they're not even mentioned in the core rules, but they do exist. They are:

1. Show the enchantment
2. Counter the enchantment (only usable by effects that specifically say they can counter reveals)
3. Pay Costs
4. Resolve the effect

When you are unable to pay the cost in step 3, the reveal is canceled and the card is discarded. I believe this would prevent any effects contingent on the reveal occurring.

jacksmack