April 30, 2024, 03:29:55 AM

Author Topic: Ranged  (Read 4290 times)

Parliament

• New Mage
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Ranged
« on: December 14, 2016, 09:36:33 PM »
I am pretty new to Mage Wars so please keep that in mind. It seems like many builds I see shy away from ranged creatures.  Is that because it is too easy to close the gap on ranged creatures? And if so, could a build with range and cards like Tanglevine, Quicksand, Force Push, etc be viable to keep the distance between archers and the targets? I really like the Warlord and know he is not one of the stronger mages outside of Dominiaton, but I was just curious about this. Any feedback is appreciated as well as any hurdles to this sort of strategy.

Puddnhead

• Member of Arcane Duels; MageCast Co-host
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • Banana Stickers 8
    • View Profile
Re: Ranged
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2016, 10:42:53 PM »
There are 5 reasons that Ranged creatures are not generally preferred.

1) Like you said it's fairly easy to close the gap with a double move.
2) There are not many buffs available for the ranged creatures.  Only Hawkeye and Archer's Watchtower.  Steep Hill was only recently introduced in PvS and may change things a little.  One could argue that Eagle's Wings is an archer buff.
3) The Teleport Wand Gank.  An enemy mage with a Mage Wand that has Teleport can just kidnap your archers (or your Mage) and remove all threat from your archers.
4) Ranged creatures generally have low health and survivability, the only notable exception is Gorgon Archer.
5) Ranged attacks are Full Actions so you cannot move and shoot which exacerbates all of the above issues.  If you have to re-position your creatures then you aren't getting any damage out of them that round.  This is a huge loss in effectiveness.

If you can find a way to overcome even a few of those drawbacks it may be worth experimenting.
Key cards to investigate:
Astral Anchor
Steep Hill
Eagle Wings
Etherian Lifetree