April 20, 2024, 12:04:51 AM

Author Topic: Common Misconceptions about Mage Wars Academy  (Read 11043 times)

Sailor Vulcan

• Secret Identity: Imaginator
  • Legendary Mage
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Common Misconceptions about Mage Wars Academy
« on: February 15, 2016, 08:26:26 AM »
1. Mage Wars Academy is just "Arena-lite"

Not true. If that were the case, then skill in Arena would translate well into skill in Academy. It translates to some extent, but not that much. You can be a great Arena player and still not be very good at Academy. I've already seen several examples, myself included.

Sure, Mage Wars Academy is simpler and has a less steep learning curve than Mage Wars Arena, but their learning curves don't have all that much overlap. If you're highly skilled in one of them and you switch to the other, you won't be completely starting over as a total newb, but you'll still be a beginner. It just takes longer to become a good Arena player than it does to become a good Academy player.

Mage Wars Academy both is and is not the Mage Wars game Arena players are already familiar with. It's too different from Arena to be considered an alternate variant, but not different enough to be an entirely different and separate game.

2. Mage Wars Academy decks "autobuild" and coming up with ideas for decks in Mage Wars Academy is basically just a "word search"

As a veteran of Mage Wars Arena this was my first impression too. However it's totally not true. Once you have a bit of experience with the gameplay you will actually have to think more and make harder decisions in deck building. You'll be surprised just how many viable options you'll be able to come up with once you've played at least a few games. While it will be even more awesome to have a bigger card pool because it will give us even more possibilities for customization, once you have a bit more experience with the game the small card pool no longer seems like such a constraint.