April 28, 2024, 05:39:12 PM

Author Topic: how to handle lack of cards  (Read 5041 times)

Hectorius

• New Mage
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
how to handle lack of cards
« on: March 30, 2015, 08:20:29 AM »
hello everyone! :)

I am new to the game and only got the core set. me and my girlfriend played a few games and now we wanted to make our own decks.
silly but difficult question: who does have the right to choose what cards?
just simple example: there is only one copy of Purify in the game. pretty good card against rot etc.
we both wanted to take this card in our deck.
easy answer: buy 2nd core set or tomes. yes, but even then are not enough cards of one certain card available (4 cards per book allowed).
so how do you guys handle this?

(I had the idea for one certain situation: for example priest vs beastmaster: priest can choose all the Holy cards that she wants (it's her school), and the ones left over, those, the beastmaster could use. and with beastmaster vice versa. he can choose all the nature cards he wants and what is left, priest can take. Problem in this case: who can choose over the non-main school cards?!)

kind regards

Bluebaron

• Full Mage
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: how to handle lack of cards
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2015, 08:49:45 AM »
You could proxy those cards. Maybe not so beautiful as the real cards but any player could have the cards they want.

If you don't like the idea, then i would go for the solution you have proposed. For the non main-school i would do the same. Let one player choose a non-main school he can choose from first. Then the other player can choose two other non-main schools he can choose from first. And so forth until no schools are left.

Wildhorn

• Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2015, 01:47:00 PM »
Buy a 2nd core box and 2 Core Spell Tome #1. Problem solved.