News:

SMF - Just Installed!

Main Menu

A Rain of Arrows

Started by infinihedron, January 20, 2014, 01:38:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

infinihedron

It states in the rules that non-fliers using an attack with a 1-X range can hit fliers in the same zone but is the opposite also true? Can a Flier with the same attack make it against a non-flier in the same zone?

webcatcher


Zuberi

Not only can a flyer with a ranged attack hit non flyers in the same zone as him, but he can also hit other flyers in the same zone as him. (FAQ pg 19)

Shad0w

Quote from: Zuberi on January 23, 2014, 05:39:55 AM
Not only can a flyer with a ranged attack hit non flyers in the same zone as him, but he can also hit other flyers in the same zone as him. (FAQ pg 19)

Truth
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

wtcannonjr

Quote from: Shad0w on January 23, 2014, 11:20:41 AM
Quote from: Zuberi on January 23, 2014, 05:39:55 AM
Not only can a flyer with a ranged attack hit non flyers in the same zone as him, but he can also hit other flyers in the same zone as him. (FAQ pg 19)

Truth

But this doesn't apply to a conjuration? The FAQ just states 'creature'.
"Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced." - James Baldwin

Zuberi

The FAQ states that you can ignore the minimum range when attacking an object in your zone if either the attacking creature or defending creature has flying. This means that a flyer can indeed attack a conjuration in the same zone with a ranged attack. Interestingly it does not allow a non flyer to attack a flying conjuration in the same zone with a ranged attack, but since there currently are no flying conjurations this isn't currently an issue.

Shad0w

#6
Quote from: wtcannonjr on January 23, 2014, 08:24:19 PM
Quote from: Shad0w on January 23, 2014, 11:20:41 AM
Quote from: Zuberi on January 23, 2014, 05:39:55 AM
Not only can a flyer with a ranged attack hit non flyers in the same zone as him, but he can also hit other flyers in the same zone as him. (FAQ pg 19)

Truth

But this doesn't apply to a conjuration? The FAQ just states 'creature'.
Ninja'd by Zuberi
Quote from: Zuberi on January 24, 2014, 12:14:30 AM
The FAQ states that you can ignore the minimum range when attacking an object in your zone if either the attacking creature or defending creature has flying. This means that a flyer can indeed attack a conjuration in the same zone with a ranged attack. Interestingly it does not allow a non flyer to attack a flying conjuration in the same zone with a ranged attack, but since there currently are no flying conjurations this isn't currently an issue.


Yes it was updated this week I think
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

wtcannonjr

Quote from: Shad0w on January 24, 2014, 09:23:44 AM
Quote from: wtcannonjr on January 23, 2014, 08:24:19 PM
Quote from: Shad0w on January 23, 2014, 11:20:41 AM
Quote from: Zuberi on January 23, 2014, 05:39:55 AM
Not only can a flyer with a ranged attack hit non flyers in the same zone as him, but he can also hit other flyers in the same zone as him. (FAQ pg 19)

Truth

But this doesn't apply to a conjuration? The FAQ just states 'creature'.
Ninja'd by Zuberi
Quote from: Zuberi on January 24, 2014, 12:14:30 AM
The FAQ states that you can ignore the minimum range when attacking an object in your zone if either the attacking creature or defending creature has flying. This means that a flyer can indeed attack a conjuration in the same zone with a ranged attack. Interestingly it does not allow a non flyer to attack a flying conjuration in the same zone with a ranged attack, but since there currently are no flying conjurations this isn't currently an issue.


Yes it was updated this week I think

Thanks, I understand that part, but my question revolves around the first part of the sentence which reads ...

"A creature can ignore minimum range when making a ranged attack against another object..."

So, rewording my question - can a conjuration ignore minimum range when making a ranged attack ...? The wording in the FAQ seems to limit this zero range ability to creatures and thereby excludes objects like Akiro's Hammer and Ballista.
"Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced." - James Baldwin

Zuberi

I apologize for my misunderstanding. That question is answered on pg15 of the rulebook v2.0 where it says any ranged attack may target a flying creature in the same zone. The point of the FAQ was that flying creatures could also gain this benefit against non fliers and other flyers. Neither source mentions flying conjurations, but those currently don't exist.

So yes, a conjuration can attack a flying creature in the same zone with a ranged attack regardless of minimum range.

wtcannonjr

Quote from: Zuberi on January 25, 2014, 12:14:14 AM
I apologize for my misunderstanding. That question is answered on pg15 of the rulebook v2.0 where it says any ranged attack may target a flying creature in the same zone. The point of the FAQ was that flying creatures could also gain this benefit against non fliers and other flyers. Neither source mentions flying conjurations, but those currently don't exist.

So yes, a conjuration can attack a flying creature in the same zone with a ranged attack regardless of minimum range.

Understood. Thanks for clearing that up.
"Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced." - James Baldwin

Shad0w

Quote from: Zuberi on January 25, 2014, 12:14:14 AM
I apologize for my misunderstanding. That question is answered on pg15 of the rulebook v2.0 where it says any ranged attack may target a flying creature in the same zone. The point of the FAQ was that flying creatures could also gain this benefit against non fliers and other flyers. Neither source mentions flying conjurations, but those currently don't exist.

So yes, a conjuration can attack a flying creature in the same zone with a ranged attack regardless of minimum range.

Correct
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

infinihedron

thanks guys! really helped with my insidious plans...