April 25, 2024, 05:28:42 AM

Author Topic: I've been playing for about four months and I've only "won" once. Any advice?  (Read 6819 times)

Sailor Vulcan

• Secret Identity: Imaginator
  • Legendary Mage
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
I've been on an EPIC losing streak since I started playing this game in August. I love Mage Wars, but I can't help feel that I'm REALLY bad at it. I've played countless games, and I've lost EVERY SINGLE ONE.

I only "won" once, but that was because my opponent rage-quitted. He basically had me on the ropes, although he was too aggravated to realize it.

Now that I think of it, the huge discrepancy in skill level between me and most of the OCTGN Mage Warriors could be part of what's impeding my progress. I've been unable to develop my tactics by experimenting because what I'm capable of at my current level is quite unlikely to win me games against any of the professionals that OCTGN is filled with, and therefore I'm unable to find out what could work for me and build off of it. Instead I've only found a million strategies that don't work, and a combination of practice and process of elimination does not seem to be kicking in for me AT ALL. It's extremely discouraging.

On top of that, I'm struggling to find people to play this game with in real life. I have only gotten to play in real life once, and that was because I had to fill in for my older sister in the demo I was doing for her and a friend.

It's not that much of a stretch to say that Mage Wars is one of the only really interesting things in my life right now, and I don't want to think that I bought the core set for nothing. Yet it sits on my shelf gathering dust while I play all my games online.

Is it just because Mage Wars isn't that popular yet since it's such a young game? How long do you think it might take until the game is popular enough that it won't be nigh-impossible to find local real life opponents that I actually stand a chance against?