April 30, 2024, 07:21:31 AM

Author Topic: Mana Curve  (Read 4437 times)

Dapuma

• Apprentice
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Mana Curve
« on: September 28, 2012, 11:45:49 PM »
What is the general mana curve per game, i.e. you need to balance out your casting cost requirements through the game, so how many 1, 2, 3 cost spells should you have etc

has anyone done a mathmatical analysis of this yet?  (i am no engineer so it is not my area of expertise) just looking to know if there is a general curve for building an initial deck

or is there a % of attack spells, enchantments, incantations etc to start off with then modify from there

Would prefer to free form my first few decks and not use the starting decks, and would looking to play Tournament style (competative)

Thanks
Dapuma

Klaxas

• Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Mana Curve
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2012, 01:53:00 AM »
there isnt really a mana curve since you can draw what you want when you want (ie you wont be upset to have a high casting cost in your hand in the beginning)

you can build a deck around really high cost spells, but you will be saving mana longer to cast them.  add in extra channeling.

as for the % of spells.  i figure about 30ish points of your deck (about 25%) should be reacting to what your opponent is doing. how are you going to deal with enchantments, how are you going to deal with equipment, etc.  also your main defences go in this catagory.  blocks, nullify, etc.

the rest is your build, what do you want to do and how do you want to do it.  ive made builds with no attack cards that work.  it just depends on what you want to do.  my advice would be to start general with a little of everything and play a few games and see how it works.