News:

SMF - Just Installed!

Main Menu

Is the Paladin a War Mage?

Started by Nealo, January 18, 2017, 03:58:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nealo

Can the Paladin use cards that say "War Mage Only?" I see that Paladin is trained in Level 2 War spells, but does that mean that the Paladin can equip Harshforge Plate? It says "War Mage Only" as opposed to "Warlord Only." Does the Paladin count as a war mage? Thanks!

zot

Yes he is a war mage because he is trained in war. The fact that it is limited in level does not matter. In the same way the warlocks are fire mages, and the siren/druids are water mages etc.

Karadox

the paladin is a lvl 2 War mage he can use lvl 1 and 2 war mage only spells... but not lvl 3+ war mage onlys
The Night is Dark and full of fright.

Puddnhead

Quote from: Karadox on January 18, 2017, 04:27:15 PM
the paladin is a lvl 2 War mage he can use lvl 1 and 2 war mage only spells... but not lvl 3+ war mage onlys

^This is exactly correct.  The Paladin only counts as a War Mage for the purpose of level 1 and level 2 War spells. 

This includes spells that combine into a higher level than 2 but only have 1 or 2 levels of the War school.  Even though Bridge Troll is Nature 2 & War 1 (and thus a level 3 spell) the paladin pays 5 spell book points for it, 4 for nature and 1 for War.

A level 3 War spell such as Dwarf Panzerguard would cost the Paladin 6 spell book points to include in his book because he does not count as trained in level 3 War spells.  Similarly the Paladin may NOT use Akiro's  Hammer but is allowed to use Ballista.

zot

agreed. just took the question as whether he is war mage or not. spelling it out as you have is much better than what i said.

zot

after thinking about this, is the paladin a war mage. he is because he is trained in the war school. so he could cast any war mage spells regardless of level. but for any that are level three or higher they would cost double spell points to put into his book.

wtcannonjr

Quote from: zot on January 18, 2017, 11:19:36 PM
after thinking about this, is the paladin a war mage. he is because he is trained in the war school. so he could cast any war mage spells regardless of level. but for any that are level three or higher they would cost double spell points to put into his book.

This is not correct. I believe the rules supplement explains this clearly as was stated above. The Paladin can only use War Mage only spells that are level 1 or 2 and Holy Mage only spells that are level 1, 2, 3, or creatures.
"Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced." - James Baldwin