News:

SMF - Just Installed!

Main Menu

Forcemaster Builds

Started by Tim, April 13, 2013, 01:17:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paleblue

Quote from: ringkichard on July 11, 2013, 10:17:20 AM
Yes, ranged flyers can attack ground creatures they share a zone with, ignoring minimum range.

A creature cannot gain flying during an attack. You can reveal Eagle Wings at the end of any attack step, but it will not help you.

My understanding is that you can, exactly the same way you can reveal Divine Intervention to avoid an attack.

"A spell fails and is canceled, if either of the following occur before the Resolve Spell Step:
1. The target of the spell is no longer a legal target, or
2. The caster or target of the spell moves (e.g. by being Pushed or Teleported away), even if the
move was to a location where the spell was still in range. (In the case of a Teleport, this applies
even if the teleport was into the same zone).
Similarly, an attack fails and is canceled, if either of the following occur before the Apply Damage and
Effects step of an attack :
1. The target of the attack is no longer a legal target, or
2. The source or target of the attack moves (e.g. by being Pushed or Teleported away), even if the
move was to a location where the spell was still in range. (In the case of a Teleport, this applies
even if the teleport was into the same zone).
The most common way these can happen is through Divine Intervention"

ringkichard

Quote from: Rulebook, page 15A creature cannot gain or lose the Flying trait in the middle of an attack. For example, if a creature gains Flying in the middle of an attack, the entire attack is still resolved as if the creature did not have Flying, and the Flying is gained after that attack is complete.
I can take the fun out of anything. It's true; here, look at this spreadsheet.

reddawn

RK is correct.  Sadly, you cannot use Eagle Swag to dodge attacks. 

Paleblue

Quote from: ringkichard on July 11, 2013, 10:56:32 PM
Quote from: Rulebook, page 15A creature cannot gain or lose the Flying trait in the middle of an attack. For example, if a creature gains Flying in the middle of an attack, the entire attack is still resolved as if the creature did not have Flying, and the Flying is gained after that attack is complete.

Ah thanks for pointing that out! There are lots of rules scattered throughout the place so can be hard to keep track of them all.

nitrodavid

I think you can activate wings during the declare attack stage because that is before you pay for the attack.
if you can't target the person you declared attack on then you can choose another attack/target. "I think"
Being Aussie we place all our cards face down, apart from enchantments which are face up

sdougla2

You can reveal Eagle Wings after a creature moves but before it declares it's second action, which means that you can effectively avoid the attack in some circumstances, but the creature will have an extra action to work with, so it could guard or move away or whatever.

reddawn


Nope.  You have to reveal the wings BEFORE the player declares an attack for the attacker to not be able to target that creature.  Technically, you can still reveal during the attack any time you'd normally be able to reveal, but the flying trait wouldn't be applied until afterwards.

It's really not a big deal, tactically speaking.  You just can't screw your opponent out of an attack with Eagle Wings, which wouldn't make sense thematically anyway.  Gotta start flappin them wings before you can fly.

jacksmack

Quote from: ringkichard on July 11, 2013, 10:17:20 AM
Yes, ranged flyers can attack ground creatures they share a zone with, ignoring minimum range.

A creature cannot gain flying during an attack. You can reveal Eagle Wings at the end of any attack step, but it will not help you.

could you link me to where i can read about this? or tell what page in the rulebook / FAQ?

Ranged flyer vs flyer:  ignore min range?

Ranged flyer vs non-flyer: ignore min range?

Ranged vs flyer: ignore min range according to rules.

Ranged vs non-flyer: Must follow range

ringkichard

Quote from: The FAQ, p. 10Flying
A creature can ignore minimum range when making a ranged attack against another object in its zone if either the attacking creature or the defending creature (or both) have the Flying trait.
I can take the fun out of anything. It's true; here, look at this spreadsheet.