News:

SMF - Just Installed!

Main Menu

AOE & Range improvments

Started by fas723, November 21, 2012, 02:34:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fas723

Hi,
Read about this somewhere in this forum, but want to have a official statment if it is correct or not.

What I remeber is that Range improvments, like Hawk Eye does not improve spells like Fire ring or Fire storm (or any other AOE spell either)?
Does this apply even towards Fire shaper ring for the above spells?

Thanks!

Gewar

Ranged +X: This creature gains + X attack dice when it makes a ranged attack. Has no effect on zone attacks. Does not grant a ranged attack if this creature does not have one. If the attack makes multiple attacks against the same or different objects, it gains this bonus only for the first attack it makes.

Has no effect on zone attacks - so any attack with "Zone" symbol (square with arrows pointing it's corners).

Fireshaper Ring adds Melee +1 and Ranged +1 and neither affects zone attacks, so will not improve Firestorm etc.
"I've seen this spell before - sold in alleys, brothels, and taverns. Men want more life. Always, they want more life."
- Rae Ashar, Wench of the Flying Dragon

Arcanus

That is correct!

This was done mostly to protect the game, but also partly for realism. Ranged +X is actually a bonus to accuracy, and has no meaning when there are multiple targets.

Hedge

it would also help our they didn't have the ranged symbol is their attach bar.



Hedge

Arcanus

Sorry about that. I can see that.

However, they are still considered ranged attacks, and trigger other effects that work for or against ranged attacks.  It also helps ensure they are not confused with melee attacks, which have to respect Guards, and can trigger counterstrikes.

Hedge

then there could be three types, melee, ranges, and zone

fas723

[quote="Hedge" post=4691]then there could be three types, melee, ranges, and zone[/quote]

Agree.
This is what made the missunderstandings in my play group.

Thanks for the answer!

Snotwalker

So let's say my Priestess has her Longbow, and I put hawkeye on her... Obviously she gets +1 dice when using the bow for a ranged attack.  HOWEVER, what if she now casts a "ranged" attack spell like fireball against a single creature?

Does the Fireball spell now roll 7 dice instead of it's base of 6?

Essentially, does Hawkeye work with ranged, non-zone, attack spells?

piousflea

Yes, Hawkeye works with ranged non-zone attack spells.

Shad0w

"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

DarthDadaD20

If you look closely at the Attack Bar of the spell, it will have the "ranged attack icon" letting you know 1. That it is a ranged attack spell,(all attack spells are ranged by the way) and 2.modifiers to ranged attacks will apply. There is a lot of visual cues in this game that will go unnoticed if you dont look for them. (I blame the beautiful card art!) Page 26. in the Mage Wars rule book has everything you need to know about the Attack Bar.
Where does my greatest enemy lie?
It has been around since the dawn of time,
it follows your loved ones as well as mine,
takes the form of a mountain as well as a flower,
it cannot be outrun by the greatest of power.
Where does my greatest enemy lie?
Within Shad0w.