July 24, 2024, 02:20:12 PM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Drealin

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8
General Discussion / Re: Money maker idea
« on: April 06, 2013, 11:09:10 AM »
That looks awesome, and a great idea.  I only worry that it would get tiresome to keep turning it around to read the cards.  Unless you stuck a duplicate in, facing the other direction, so both players could see it at the same time, then it would make it a lot easier to deal with multiple creatures/enchantments in the same zone.

General Discussion / Re: Spellbook and Counters
« on: March 25, 2013, 12:37:44 AM »
Not using the damage/mana counters might not be a good idea, since there are already some counters that you need your own other markers for.  It could make it more difficult for a judge to determine what is on your creatures if people started using their own markers.
I wouldn't think you could use regular dice, since the dice in Mage Wars are unique.  Also for the same reason as using your own damage/mana counters, how would a judge know what you rolled.
I don't see any reason why you couldn't just have your cards in a deck on the table, as long as it was obviously separated from your prepared spells, equipment, and discard pile.  But I would think that would make it take longer to find the card you want, I could be wrong, I haven't tried it.

General Discussion / Re: Jet Stream's Push
« on: March 25, 2013, 12:20:05 AM »
Quote from: "Shad0w" post=9618
Good call and nice work on the diagram. Have a banana sticker  :P

Thank you!  I shall treasure this banana sticker always! :cheer:

Quote from: "Dijirati" post=9617
Wish I knew how to put those graphics in - I would have been better able to ask my question.

When creating a message there is an attachments option just below the message input part.  After you add an image there is a button you can click to put it in your message.

General Questions / Re: Missing tokens?
« on: March 24, 2013, 11:29:43 AM »
Forcemaster Vs Warlord also doesn't include tokens that are mentioned on cards, and I suspect that that will continue to be the case.  For continued play of Mage Wars I would suggest getting some cheap glass beads or the small 7/8" poker chips in various colors as I use.  They are cheap and easily obtained.  Hopefully at some point in the future there will be a token pack released with all the various tokens that weren't included so far.  But that probably won't happen until at least after the next expansion to ensure that there are enough to make it worth it.  And then when more expansions come out, you will have to use tokens again, until another token pack comes out.

Rules Discussion / Re: Questions as they come up
« on: March 24, 2013, 01:27:27 AM »
Quote from: "Doma0997" post=9590
I know the first two questions are still foggy, but here's a quick question to aggravate another player. Teleport needs a target creature, and target zone. If LOS is blocked, then you can't proceed in that direction with the teleport, correct? So hypothetically speaking, if someone took the time to box you in with two-four walls of stone, you have to fight your way through them with no good way of escape?

If you aren't playing as the Wizard, or Forcemaster then yes, there is no way of using teleport to escape.
However, the Wizard has Huggin who can cast Incantation spells, and the Forcemaster has Thoughtspores which can have an Incantation spell bound to it.  Both of them are flying, so they can see the entire board.
Of course a Blue Gremlin could also teleport through since it doesn't need line of sight.
Don't know if we'll ever see any other color of gremlin, or what their abilities might be though...

General Discussion / Re: Jet Stream's Push
« on: March 23, 2013, 12:29:46 AM »
To clarify, in case I misunderstood here are two possibilities, where you are the red dot and your opponent is the blue dot.

When you cast Jet Stream, if you get a push, then you must bash them into the wall, because that is the opposite direction of the caster, you.

When you cast Jet Stream here, you have two options.  You may either bash them into the wall, or move them to where the green dot is.  But those are your only two options as they are the only two directions that would move your opponent farther away from you.

General Discussion / Re: Jet Stream's Push
« on: March 23, 2013, 12:15:26 AM »
From the Codex page 43 of the Rulebook 2.0

Push is an effect caused by some spells and attacks that moves the target
into an adjacent zone. Unless the effect says otherwise, the Pushed creature
must move one zone away in the opposite direction from the source of the
Push. If there is a choice of direction (such as pushing a creature diagonally
opposite, or if the source of the Push is in the same zone as the target), the
source of the Push chooses the direction.

The source of the push would be your mage who is casting Jet Stream, and Jet Stream does not specify that you have any options, only that the attack may cause a Push.
Force Push on the other hand says: "Target creature is pushed 1 zone in the direction of your choice."
So while the push effect remains the same, moving the target in 1 direction, Force Push specifically allows you to choose, whereas a simply push effect does not.

General Discussion / Re: Spell Zone Pack Announced
« on: March 21, 2013, 12:34:52 PM »
Dice Tower Link

There's not much info there just this:
From Arcane Wonders:

Mage Wars: Druid vs. Necromancer due out at GenCon, and a small spell zone pack and alternate spellcasters coming at Origins.

General Discussion / Re: Online
« on: March 21, 2013, 12:10:39 PM »
I know of two:
Builder #1
Builder #2

The first one works decently, and you tell it how many of copies of the core set and tome 1 you have before building.
The second one is what was being worked on as the more official builder, and has most if not all of the cards from the core set, and assumes you have an unlimited number of these cards, so you don't need to determine how many sets you have.
But neither have the Forcemaster VS Warlord cards.

Mages / Re: Archmage Hopes
« on: March 21, 2013, 12:00:54 PM »
I think I remember a post from a long time ago that the Archmage's are planned to be named mages from the lore of the game.  Hopefully that means there will be a decent amount of lore by then...

I think that an Archmage should have increased spellbook points, health, and channeling.  They could be the only mages that start with armor too.
I think extra actions makes sense, and they could either have a second quickcast marker, or a second action marker, maybe depending on the Archamge.  Or there could be a new full cast only marker, that you could use to either do an extra quick action or an extra full cast, but you couldn't use it to move.

I also think it could be fun if the Archmages had some kind of weakness, they get their extra powers because of some object that they enchanted, so if your team destroys that then the Archmage becomes weaker.

I never really got into Magic, so I'm not sure how the Archenemy thing works, as opposed to an Archmage.

Rules Discussion / Re: Alright... weird enchantment question.
« on: March 21, 2013, 11:24:17 AM »
Quote from: "Snotwalker" post=9488
Quote from: "Aarrow" post=9481
Quote from: "Snotwalker" post=9451
Quote from: "Tacullu64" post=9443
There can't be 2 Nullify's on the same creature. The casting of the second by the opposing mage causes the first Nullify to be revealed (mandatory reveal icon on Nullify), at which point it's controller must decide to pay the reveal cost and cancel the second Nullify or not pay and let the second Nullify be attached to his creature. As a side note the controller of the first Nullify only knows his creature is being targeted with an enchantment at this point, not what that enchantment is.

Since we're in "TheoryVille" here, actually there could potentially be 2 Nulifys on one creature.  How, you ask?  In Teamplay games.

If both I and an ally in a teamplay game cast nulify on an opposing mage, then yes, there could exist an example of 2 legaly cast nulifies on a single creature.

But I also admit that in a 2-player game, this could never happen.  My bad.  I was trying to think of both 1:1 and team games at the same time, and obviously had a Spell of Confusion cast upon me by a opposing mage.  (Hmmmm....  Spell of Confusion... interesting future enchantment release?...  When revealed, the intended spell's target is now cast upon a randomly determined creature instead, both ally and enemy considered alike?  Wow... I like that!)
Even in team games the first Nullify HAS to trigger when the creature is targeted by ANYONE, even including the owner of Nullify.

Nulify is only activated when an opposing mage casts an enchantment or incantation on the creature.

Correct, Nullify specifically says when "targeted by an incantation or enchantment spell controlled by an opponent".
But the real question here is:

If an opponent reveals an enchantment on an object, and you have the same enchantment hidden on that object, are you required to let the opponent know that?
If yes, then what happens to each enchantment?

Mages / Re: Druid Speculation
« on: March 21, 2013, 01:27:37 AM »
Quote from: "baronzaltor" post=9333
-Mages whose archetype starts with "W" have 2 trained schools.

Lol, I didn't notice that before!
Of course neither Druid nor Necromancer begin with "W", so that trend may not continue, wish I knew for sure...

Rules Discussion / Re: Alright... weird enchantment question.
« on: March 20, 2013, 01:41:36 PM »
Quote from: "piousflea" post=9402
Illegal self duplication is easier to control than enemy duplication. If I dispel a bear strength on your Mage, and three rounds later you reveal another bear strength: either you have not cast any enchantments on yourself over the past three rounds, in which case I call you out for illegal casting, or you have cast enchantments on yourself in the meantime. In that case, you've spent a quick action and 2 mana so you've effectively paid the cost of re-enchanting.

That said, in an extremely high stakes tournament game, if one player has a large number of face downs, it could be reasonable to call a referee to make sure there are no duplicates.

I agree with everything you said.
For enemy duplication I think that the rule only comes into play for revealed enchantments, I don't think this will cause any real confusion, it's just a minor change from the self duplication rule.  Plus it is normally a very rare occurrence.
As far as having a face down enchantment making the other person guess for the rest of the game.  That can happen no matter what, and what Decoy's are for, if you decide to use a different enchantment than Decoy, I see no problem with that since you won't get your mana refunded ever.

General Discussion / Re: a last question from Belgium
« on: March 20, 2013, 11:35:43 AM »
In case you haven't noticed Darth goes bananas over answering peoples questions... ;)

General Discussion / Re: use of "infinite defense"
« on: March 20, 2013, 11:33:08 AM »
Quote from: "DarthDadaD20" post=9384
Now Triplestrike: each additional strike is resolved, one at a time, following these 3 steps: Avoid Attack, Roll Dice, Damage and Effects. So with the avoid attack step being followed, yes you can use your defense! Happy gaming!

Emphasis added.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8