Arcane Wonders Forum
Mage Wars => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: Teclis on February 28, 2013, 04:35:11 PM
-
When I played against a warlock today my mage had Magebane attached.
It reads: Each time this creature casts and resolves a spell, it receives 1 direct damage.
As this is very annoying, I wanted to destroy it with a Dispel. Question: Is the direct damage dealt for the cast Dispel or not? Both triggers are simultaneous, aren't they?
-
Had the same exact question Tuesday! :unsure:
-
I do believe you take the damage, as the Dispel must resolve before it can destroy the Magebane. And if a spell resolves, Magebane pokes you. Then dispel pokes back.
-
That's how we did it. Just wanted to clear things up... ;)
-
That is how we played it too, I disagreed though, as both say when you resolve the spell. My understanding is when you have a tie it would go to the Mage taking the action and it then would be the favorable outcome to the caster.
Am I off base for thinking this way?
-
Well, new enchantments take priority over the old ones,(ex: one that takes away flying first, then one that gives flying second, the creature would have flying) But that wouldn't apply here. I would say this: Who ever has Initiative would decide a timing issues, and this is one.
-
Exactly! And the ruling from Arcanus is? Would like to pin this one down before game day tommorow!
-
I'm 99% that this is a timing issue and that it would be the player with Initiative who decides which effect takes place first. Just one more reason why I never pass that initiative marker! :evil:
-
Yes, you do take the damage.
-
Oh, well then. I would of thought since they happen during the same time,and being the same step(Step 3). it would be a timing issue. It makes sense though,dispel resolves, you take the damage,then it is destroyed. Thanks Arcanus.
-
Yes, you do take the damage.
Allright, then it is official! :)
Thanks Arcanus.
-
Lets see who can explain why. :P
-
Because a spell is technically resolved and then takes effect.(That and Resolve is a step) I was thinking that magebane wouldn't take affect until after step 3 was over, but it must do the damage immediately after step 2 at the very beginning of step 3. right before spell takes effect, but after it is resolved. I think I may of been over thinking it, since in play if we did this, we always took the damage. That and it makes perfect sense if you read the steps. Step 3:The spell is resolved and then takes effect. I can have my durp moments! That and Im just trying to find a timing issue, since I have yet to come across one.
-
I am giving time for everybody to chime in
-
Well, the build-up by Shad0w is now making me think I'm missing something, but it just seems to make sense that:
1) Magebane is in play, and any time that target mage casts and resolves a spell, they take a point of DD.
2) Dispel is cast, which immediately fulfills the pre-existing condition of #1.
3) It can't dispel without damage, because it has to resolve before doing so.
I think it comes down to Magebane being a pre-existing effect.
-
I think i remember reading somewhere either on the forum or rule book that when there is a timing issue it is whatever is worse for the mage is the way it happens.
-
I think i remember reading somewhere either on the forum or rule book that when there is a timing issue it is whatever is worse for the mage is the way it happens.
What what I was talking about was,You always choose the order in which events that affect your creatures and objects occur during the upkeep phase. In the rare case that a timing issue occurs, the player with the initiative decides the order. And I was way off base.
The only other thing that says anything about timing issues is: If both players want to reveal an enchantment at the same time, the player with the initiative goes first. I believe that those are the only timing issues in the game. Then there is:When 2 effects conflict with each other, the later effect always overrides the earlier effect.
(A creature that is not naturally flying is enchanted with Eagle Wings and is later enchanted with Maim Wings the creature will not have flying.)
-
Im use to games where for the spell to be resolved, it is after everything has been taken care of, and if nothing happened, its not resolved.(The spell has to take effect first and be successful to be resolved,not just countered) In this game the spell can resolve and multiple variables can affect it after that, just like your attack can be successful in mage wars and not do damage. I like how it works in mage wars. It makes more sense that your spell comes in to fruition and then has an effect,not the other way around.