Arcane Wonders Forum
Mage Wars => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: CobaltGray on June 17, 2016, 03:43:34 PM
-
Quick question (with apologies if its been asked before or obvious).
What defines a minor vs major creature. In Academy the rulebook defines major and minor spells (> level 2 or <= level 2). It also talks about stagger with major and minor creatures. Is this the same thing? Where is it in the rulebook please?
Thanks
-
Hey there,
Just for reference here is the rulebook for major/minor creatures ---> http://www.arcanewonders.com/resources/Academy_Rulebook.pdf
On page 24 they list major and minor as terms.
Major - A spell of level 3 or higher
Minor - A Level 1 or 2 spell
Creatures are considered a type of spell (page 15 of the rulebook) so a minor creature is level 1 or 2, while major creatures are level 3 or higher. Hope that helps! Happy gaming!
tl;dr - It is the same thing.
-
Awesome - thanks
-
Just to clarify...if something was level 2 Holy and level 1 nature...is it considered the highest single level (2) or combined level (3)?
-
Just to clarify...if something was level 2 Holy and level 1 nature...is it considered the highest single level (2) or combined level (3)?
It would be the sum of all levels (3)
-
Would it be a considered a Minor Holy Creature and a Major Creature overall or no? I'm not sure if there ever will be anything that specifically can target a minor school creature, just curious again.
-
Would it be a considered a Minor Holy Creature and a Major Creature overall or no? I'm not sure if there ever will be anything that specifically can target a minor school creature, just curious again.
Not that I'm aware of. For simplicity's sake, I believe it's just considered a minor or major spell/creature overall
-
Shark is correct. A 2/1 creature is considered a level 3 creature for the purposes of spell effects and creature abilities. A level 2 nature / level 1 water spell is a level 3 spell and is considered a water spell as well as a nature spell. However, for purposes of spell book creation, the Druid only pays 3 points to add it to her book.
Schools of magic are a different category of minor and major. No spell or game effect currently cares whether your spell belongs to a major or minor school of magic--it's merely a lore designation and (correct me if I'm wrong) a measure of how robust the scope of that school is meant to be. I believe that the elemental schools are the only ones designated as "minor" at this juncture.
-
Would it be a considered a Minor Holy Creature and a Major Creature overall or no? I'm not sure if there ever will be anything that specifically can target a minor school creature, just curious again.
It is considered a Major (based on total level) Holy and Nature (based on schools involved) creature. It would never be a Minor creature, and it would always be both a Holy creature and Nature creature.
-
Banana Sticker Explosion!
Yes, Major is level 3 or higher and Minor is level 1 or 2. Yes, you look at the total level of a card to determine if it is Major or Minor.