Arcane Wonders Forum

Mage Wars => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: Phillus on April 30, 2015, 05:48:44 AM

Title: Jinx rules
Post by: Phillus on April 30, 2015, 05:48:44 AM
Does jinx put a mage wand's spell back into its spellbook?
Title: Re: Jinx rules
Post by: Wildhorn on April 30, 2015, 06:06:48 AM
No. Just like a Nullify doesn't make you discard it.
Title: Re: Jinx rules
Post by: Wouter on April 30, 2015, 01:51:42 PM
What, can you clear this out?

I had the same think going on yesterday I believe.

I play in FQ a jinx
The other mage plays elementel wand
Jinx reveals --> the elementel wand + spell go back in to spellbook. And the mages get the mana back.

This is right isn't it?

Title: Re: Jinx rules
Post by: sIKE on April 30, 2015, 02:02:36 PM
You can Jinx a Wand when you opponent casts it as a prepared spell. I think this answer was for when, the spell bound to the wand is cast, that you can Jinx that spell. If that happens, neither the bound spell nor ward are returned to the casters spell book.
Title: Re: Jinx rules
Post by: iNano78 on April 30, 2015, 02:04:28 PM
What, can you clear this out?

I had the same think going on yesterday I believe.

I play in FQ a jinx
The other mage plays elementel wand
Jinx reveals --> the elementel wand + spell go back in to spellbook. And the mages get the mana back.

This is right isn't it?

You're right. *edit* In fact, Jinx counters the Elemental (or Mage) Wand before anything gets bound to it (because the Wand never had a chance to resolve), so the other player puts the Wand back in his spell book and that's it.

But if the Elemental (or Mage) Wand was already on the opposing mage before you put Jinx on him, and then you enchanted him with Jinx, and then he tried to use the spell that's bound to the Wand, Jinx counters the spell (and mana is reimbursed), but the spell stays bound to the Wand.

*edit* Ninja'd
Title: Re: Jinx rules
Post by: sIKE on April 30, 2015, 02:28:45 PM
That's what I said :)
Title: Re: Jinx rules
Post by: rodriguekhalil on April 30, 2015, 03:19:51 PM

What if the opponent uses a quick cast/quick action to change his bound spell.

What does jinx do then? Does he just put his new spell back and leaves the old one?
Title: Re: Jinx rules
Post by: DaveW on April 30, 2015, 06:24:43 PM

What if the opponent uses a quick cast/quick action to change his bound spell.

What does jinx do then? Does he just put his new spell back and leaves the old one?

Since the new spell does not get attached to the wand, the old spell remains, and the cost to change the bound spell is refunded.
Title: Re: Jinx rules
Post by: Wouter on May 04, 2015, 03:31:38 PM
thx for clearing that up