Arcane Wonders Forum

Mage Wars => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: tedhaha on December 01, 2014, 03:21:28 AM

Title: stranglevine - can choose to pay upkeep?
Post by: tedhaha on December 01, 2014, 03:21:28 AM
When I read stranglevine's text,
It feels like player who control can choose whether to pay upkeep (direct damage + life buff) or not.

Just wanna make sure how it works  :)
Title: Re: stranglevine - can choose to pay upkeep?
Post by: V10lentray on December 01, 2014, 08:49:00 AM
All upkeep costs are optional. 

Per Codex -

This object’s controller pays X mana during each Upkeep Phase or this object is destroyed.

Title: Re: stranglevine - can choose to pay upkeep?
Post by: echephron on December 01, 2014, 05:17:44 PM
Note that if you dont pay the upkeep, the vine is destroyed. You cant just choose to stop paying for it to grow bigger.
Title: Re: stranglevine - can choose to pay upkeep?
Post by: Zuberi on December 01, 2014, 05:39:02 PM
I know it wasn't asked, but it seems to be such a common question I thought I'd also point out that the life gain is not cumulative. If it had three crush tokens on it, it would have twelve life total (2x3 + base of 6).