Arcane Wonders Forum

Mage Wars => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: Wolfswift on October 28, 2014, 12:53:51 PM

Title: Nullify on a bound spell
Post by: Wolfswift on October 28, 2014, 12:53:51 PM
So what happens if someone activates a Nullify on a bound spell, like an incantation bound to a Mage Wand? Would it destroy the bound spell, leaving the wand up to get a new spell, would it destroy the wand or would it not work at all?
Title: Re: Nullify on a bound spell
Post by: lukard on October 28, 2014, 01:28:32 PM
Take a look at the rule book pg21 under spellbinding for more information:

"(...)
If you use a bound incantation or attack spell, it is not discarded after casting. The Spellbind object retains the bound spell so you can use it over and over again in future game rounds. Also, if the spell is countered or canceled it is not discarded and remains bound.
(...)"

Answering your question: The spell is cancelled but it continues bound to your wand and you can use it again next round.
Title: Re: Nullify on a bound spell
Post by: Shad0w on October 29, 2014, 01:05:07 AM
Take a look at the rule book pg21 under spellbinding for more information:

"(...)
If you use a bound incantation or attack spell, it is not discarded after casting. The Spellbind object retains the bound spell so you can use it over and over again in future game rounds. Also, if the spell is countered or canceled it is not discarded and remains bound.
(...)"

Answering your question: The spell is cancelled but it continues bound to your wand and you can use it again next round.

Yup. This is also true for jinx. The spell does not return it stays bound.
Title: Re: Nullify on a bound spell
Post by: Wolfswift on October 29, 2014, 04:44:33 AM
I guess that makes sense. I knew bound spells weren't discarded after use, I just wasn't sure how nullifying a bound spell would work... But I see now, thanks.
Title: Re: Nullify on a bound spell
Post by: Shad0w on October 30, 2014, 01:16:14 AM
NP