Arcane Wonders Forum

Mage Wars => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: silverclawgrizzly on September 16, 2014, 11:36:18 PM

Title: Enchantment Legality.
Post by: silverclawgrizzly on September 16, 2014, 11:36:18 PM
Is it legal to cast a face down enchantment at a creature you know perfectly well is not a valid target? I know the second the card is revealed it's destroyed as being non-valid but a face down card is just a face down card.

Say for example I'm fighting a wizard and I want to make him waste his Seeking Dispels so I cast I dunno Eagle Wings at him in an attempt to get him to get rid of it.

Alternatively lets say I am absolutely sure you have a Nullify on you and my Warlord doesn't feel like wasting his one good curse. Could I cast Standard Bearer face down, pop your Nullify, return my Standard Bearer back to my book, and laugh as I invented "Goofy War Seeking Dispel?"

Title: Re: Enchantment Legality.
Post by: sdougla2 on September 16, 2014, 11:45:55 PM
You are not allowed to cast a face down enchantment on an illegal target.
Title: Re: Enchantment Legality.
Post by: silverclawgrizzly on September 16, 2014, 11:47:20 PM
Well there goes that genius plan. Back to the drawing board.
Title: Re: Enchantment Legality.
Post by: krj on September 17, 2014, 03:21:43 AM
and what happen when somebody will cast accidently (or not) standard bearer on illegal target which has nullify which of course will be revealed? (i'm not going to do that, but i wonder what according to rules should happen).
Title: Re: Enchantment Legality.
Post by: Zuberi on September 17, 2014, 03:52:16 AM
The rules in the book would only impose the penalty of the card being destroyed upon reveal. Tournaments would impose harsher penalties, starting with warnings and going as far as disqualification (probably after repeat offenses). In a tournament you should definitely report such behavior, and you are within your right to look at unrevealed enchantments after the game has concluded to make sure such behavior has not occurred.

In a more casual setting, the only penalty you can ever apply to a cheater really is the threat that you will cease playing with them.
Title: Re: Enchantment Legality.
Post by: silverclawgrizzly on September 17, 2014, 04:30:45 AM
That's pretty much how I had it figured and agree that it is a dishonest trick at best.
Title: Re: Enchantment Legality.
Post by: Sailor Vulcan on September 17, 2014, 05:27:29 PM
Wait, so if I enchant my creature with a nullify, it is not a legal target for my opponent's nullify, right? So if they target my creature with a nullify, it will be discarded without effect whether I pay the mana to counter it or not, since my creature was not a legal target when their nullify was cast...
Title: Re: Enchantment Legality.
Post by: sIKE on September 17, 2014, 06:25:03 PM
From the FAQ:
Quote
Duplicate Enchantments

When an enchantment is revealed, if it is attached to an object or zone which already has a revealed enchantment with the same name attached to that same object or zone, the newly revealed enchantment is immediately discarded without effect.

Players cannot cast an enchantment which targets a zone or object if there is either (a) a friendly hidden enchantment with the same name attached to that zone or object, or (b) a revealed enchantment with the same name (friendly or enemy) attached to that zone or object.

Note that it is possible to attach a duplicate enchantment to the same zone or object as an opponent’s hidden enchantment. This would be unintentional or accidental, because you will not know that the duplication exists. Later, if the enemy hidden enchantment is revealed, you will realize that you have attached a duplicate enchantment to the same object. When this occurs, you may leave the duplicate enchantment in play as a hidden enchantment. If you later reveal that enchantment while the duplicate is still attached, you will have to destroy and discard the newer copy which you just revealed without it having any effect.

When you reveal an enchantment, you only discard it without effect if there is another revealed enchantment of the same name attached to that zone or object. A hidden enchantment of the same name does not cause you to discard the newly revealed enchantment.