Arcane Wonders Forum

Mage Wars => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: miketastic77 on June 15, 2014, 09:25:51 AM

Title: Libro Mortuos-Deploy from Spellbook or Hand?
Post by: miketastic77 on June 15, 2014, 09:25:51 AM
When the Libro Mortuos is used, the card doesn't specifiy where the creature can come from.  So do you deploy from the initial 2 planning cards, or from the entire spellbook?
Title: Re: Libro Mortuos-Deploy from Spellbook or Hand?
Post by: sIKE on June 15, 2014, 03:39:55 PM
When the Libro Mortuos is used, the card doesn't specifiy where the creature can come from.  So do you deploy from the initial 2 planning cards, or from the entire spellbook?

I think the line of the card text "into your zone" (it is a piece of equipment attached to you) is very clear and concise....
Title: Re: Libro Mortuos-Deploy from Spellbook or Hand?
Post by: Lord0fWinter on June 15, 2014, 03:55:14 PM
[mwcard=DNQ05]Libro Mortuos[/mwcard] is a spawnpoint, which from the codex is defined as an object with the ability to cast spells for you.

Also from the codex, "You select spells for your Spawnpoints during the Planning Phase, at the same time that you choose spells for your Mage to prepare (one additional spell for each Spawnpoint)". So basically you take an extra spell and place it by the Spawnpoint, in this case, Libro. Then, during your deployment phase you may cast that spell and ONLY that spell.

Hope that answers what you were asking.
Title: Re: Libro Mortuos-Deploy from Spellbook or Hand?
Post by: miketastic77 on June 15, 2014, 10:27:41 PM
[mwcard=DNQ05]Libro Mortuos[/mwcard] is a spawnpoint, which from the codex is defined as an object with the ability to cast spells for you.

Also from the codex, "You select spells for your Spawnpoints during the Planning Phase, at the same time that you choose spells for your Mage to prepare (one additional spell for each Spawnpoint)". So basically you take an extra spell and place it by the Spawnpoint, in this case, Libro. Then, during your deployment phase you may cast that spell and ONLY that spell.

LordofWinter that explains it for me thanks! 
Title: Re: Libro Mortuos-Deploy from Spellbook or Hand?
Post by: Shad0w on June 17, 2014, 05:14:45 PM
[mwcard=DNQ05]Libro Mortuos[/mwcard] is a spawnpoint, which from the codex is defined as an object with the ability to cast spells for you.

Also from the codex, "You select spells for your Spawnpoints during the Planning Phase, at the same time that you choose spells for your Mage to prepare (one additional spell for each Spawnpoint)". So basically you take an extra spell and place it by the Spawnpoint, in this case, Libro. Then, during your deployment phase you may cast that spell and ONLY that spell.

Hope that answers what you were asking.


Correct and worth a sticker 8)
Title: Re: Libro Mortuos-Deploy from Spellbook or Hand?
Post by: RogRog1 on August 07, 2014, 01:11:45 PM
I know this sounds crazy, but can Libros be used with garrison post?  Here is my reasoning; equipment is attached to your Mage.  Now, your Mage is using the Libro to summon a soldier for itself.  Can it than be summoned to garrison post since it was cast by your Mage?
Title: Re: Libro Mortuos-Deploy from Spellbook or Hand?
Post by: sIKE on August 07, 2014, 01:37:39 PM
I know this sounds crazy, but can Libros be used with garrison post?  Here is my reasoning; equipment is attached to your Mage.  Now, your Mage is using the Libro to summon a soldier for itself.  Can it than be summoned to garrison post since it was cast by your Mage?
(http://www.arcanewonders.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/Garrison-Post-2-e1399931278433.png)
Since Libro is not a War Spawnpoint the answer is no.
Title: Re: Libro Mortuos-Deploy from Spellbook or Hand?
Post by: RogRog1 on August 07, 2014, 02:33:51 PM
Am I correct that the summoning of the soldier is still done by my Mage?  or  do I not understand equipment attachments on my Mage are controlled by my Mage?
Title: Re: Libro Mortuos-Deploy from Spellbook or Hand?
Post by: RogRog1 on August 07, 2014, 02:51:10 PM
I am only looking for creative ways to combo cards and think outside of the box.  This string just sparked a thought, it may not be a good one, but I'm trying to come up with new things before the game gets mundane for me.
Title: Re: Libro Mortuos-Deploy from Spellbook or Hand?
Post by: sIKE on August 07, 2014, 03:06:23 PM
No once you have cast Libro it is now an object with the Spawnpoint trait. It is what (functionally) brings the creature into play.
Title: Re: Libro Mortuos-Deploy from Spellbook or Hand?
Post by: Myrddin on August 07, 2014, 04:12:00 PM
No once you have cast Libro it is now an object with the Spawnpoint trait. It is what (functionally) brings the creature into play.
But to be explicit, (as per the card posted above), things summoned from spawnpoints can also go to the garrison post. RogRog: you might have missed this if you have an older set, as the garrison post card was updated (largely to let it work with barracks, but helping with Libro Mortus too!)
Title: Re: Libro Mortuos-Deploy from Spellbook or Hand?
Post by: RogRog1 on August 07, 2014, 04:16:29 PM
Thnx...  My vision was clouded, and couldn't see into the next zone.  I had a similar thought using Resurrection with outpost, and that works, since my Mage is casting the soldier from the discard pile and utilizing a mage wand.
Title: Re: Libro Mortuos-Deploy from Spellbook or Hand?
Post by: Wildhorn on August 07, 2014, 04:45:37 PM
No once you have cast Libro it is now an object with the Spawnpoint trait. It is what (functionally) brings the creature into play.
But to be explicit, (as per the card posted above), things summoned from spawnpoints can also go to the garrison post. RogRog: you might have missed this if you have an older set, as the garrison post card was updated (largely to let it work with barracks, but helping with Libro Mortus too!)

Libro Mortus can't spawn creature on Garrison Post because Libro is not a War Spawnpoint.
Title: Re: Libro Mortuos-Deploy from Spellbook or Hand?
Post by: Shad0w on August 08, 2014, 11:44:31 AM
As Sike and Wild stated
Libro Mortus can't spawn creature on Garrison Post because Libro is not a War Spawnpoint.