Arcane Wonders Forum

Mage Wars => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: isel on April 12, 2014, 06:28:25 PM

Title: SEveral creatures on guard
Post by: isel on April 12, 2014, 06:28:25 PM
Hello i dont find something sure, i post for that and sorry if this its just clarify:

-If you have several creatures on guard, you can choose whose guard creature gets the attack or its the opponent? rules said that opponent must choose a guard creature if there are one, but i dont see clear if there are several on guard.

thanks.
Title: Re: SEveral creatures on guard
Post by: gw on April 12, 2014, 06:35:43 PM
Mage Wars' Rulebook v2.0 states on p.22 under "Step 1: Declare Attack" :

[...]
Then, announce what target you are attacking. You must choose a legal target for your attack:
If you are making a melee attack, the target must be in the
same zone as the attacker. If there are enemy guards in the
zone, you must choose one of the guards to attack (see
“Guarding” on page 29).

So, I understand it the way that the attacker chooses which guarding creature is attacked.
Title: Re: SEveral creatures on guard
Post by: vlad3theimpaler on April 12, 2014, 10:01:24 PM
gw is correct.  The same thing applies to a creature with bloodthirsty attacking when there is more than one wounded character (or one wounded and another with a guard marker)--the attacker gets to choose which one he targets.
Title: Re: SEveral creatures on guard
Post by: Kotakh on April 12, 2014, 10:20:19 PM
gw is correct.  The same thing applies to a creature with bloodthirsty attacking when there is more than one wounded character (or one wounded and another with a guard marker)--the attacker gets to choose which one he targets.

Actually, a bloodthirsty creature cannot attack a wounded creature if there is a guard in the same zone.

Faq p11: A creature with Bloodthirsty is in a zone with two other enemy creatures, one of which is Guarding and undamaged, and the other one of which is damaged. Since the damaged creature is not a legal target for the attack, the creature is free of any obligation to attack, so it could either attack the Guard or take another action.

Title: Re: SEveral creatures on guard
Post by: Zuberi on April 12, 2014, 11:58:13 PM
gw is correct.  The same thing applies to a creature with bloodthirsty attacking when there is more than one wounded character (or one wounded and another with a guard marker)--the attacker gets to choose which one he targets.

Just to clarify, if you activate a Bloodthirsty creature and there are two opposing creatures in your zone, one undamaged and on guard while the other one is damaged and not on guard, then you MUST attack the guard. You do not get to ignore guards when your creature has Bloodthirsty. (FAQ page 11)

But, otherwise you are correct. The attacker gets to choose which creature they wish to attack when there are multiple legal options. Guard simply designates which targets are legal options.
Title: Re: SEveral creatures on guard
Post by: ringkichard on April 13, 2014, 08:54:53 AM
Just to clarify, if you activate a Bloodthirsty creature and there are two opposing creatures in your zone, one undamaged and on guard while the other one is damaged and not on guard, then you MUST attack the guard. You do not get to ignore guards when your creature has Bloodthirsty. (FAQ page 11)

Not quite.

Quote
Example: A creature with Bloodthirsty is in a zone with two other enemy creatures, one of which is Guarding and undamaged, and the other one of which is damaged. Since the damaged creature is not a legal target for the attack, the creature is free of any obligation to attack, so it could either attack the Guard or take another action.

It's not that the Bloodthirsty creature MUST attack the guard. The Bloodthirsty creature can guard or move, for example.
Title: Re: SEveral creatures on guard
Post by: Zuberi on April 13, 2014, 02:35:19 PM
You are correct ringkichard. Bad choice of words on my part. I simply meant that it could not attack anything other than the guard. It could certainly choose to do something other than attacking at all.