Arcane Wonders Forum
Mage Wars => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: Caamora on April 08, 2014, 08:45:21 PM
-
Can a creature with Eagles Wings not revealed on it reveal it after a ground creature declares an attack on it to become flying and therefore a non valid target for the ground creatures attack?
-
No. A creature can't gain or lose flying during an attack.
-
well i guess i screwed that one up.. you win on that Mike
But doesnt a flying creature lose flying when declaring an attack?
-
aww, if thats the case i've been doing this one wrong too. Maybe I'll look into it
-
But doesnt a flying creature lose flying when declaring an attack?
When attacking a creature on the ground, after the attack sequence is finished he gains the Flying trait again.
-
In order to "gain flying to avoid an attack" you have eagle wings face down and (immediately so they don't feel jadec) after their creature moves into the zone before they declare attack, reveal eagle wings. Then they can only 1 move again if unhindered 2 guard 3 attack something else
-
There is no way for a creature to gain flying and *cancel* an attack. However, you can have a creature gain flying after your opponent activates their creature but before they declare their attack. Now, in actual game play, most players will declare their attack as they activate their creature or possibly even before they flip that action marker. When that happens, I would tell them that I am revealing my enchantment during the time in between those two steps (which they tried to skip over) and that they must pick a different action for their creature to perform.
It still doesn't cancel the attack, as they get to do something else, but their creature was stopped from doing what it wanted.
A flying creature does lose the flying trait when it attacks a non-flying creature, but only during the time it takes to complete the attack. This is primarily to allow counterstrike to work. After the attack is finished, the creature immediately regains flying.
-
There is no way for a creature to gain flying and *cancel* an attack. However, you can have a creature gain flying after your opponent activates their creature but before they declare their attack. Now, in actual game play, most players will declare their attack as they activate their creature or possibly even before they flip that action marker. When that happens, I would tell them that I am revealing my enchantment during the time in between those two steps (which they tried to skip over) and that they must pick a different action for their creature to perform.
It still doesn't cancel the attack, as they get to do something else, but their creature was stopped from doing what it wanted.
A flying creature does lose the flying trait when it attacks a non-flying creature, but only during the time it takes to complete the attack. This is primarily to allow counterstrike to work. After the attack is finished, the creature immediately regains flying.
This is completely correct. 8)
-
Well totally screwed that up from day 1.. thought the creature lost flying until the next turn so it could be attacked by ground creatures after it attacked.. WOW.. I have to learn to read better..
-
I'm ashamed to say it, but I honestly made the same mistake my first game, Caamora >_>
I read the rulebook twice before playing, but it wasn't till the third time through after my first game that I caught that rule. This is a very deep and complex game. Don't feel bad about missing or misinterpreting rules and cards. Everyone does it. The important thing is to have fun.
-
I got the game for Christmas 2013 and I still make rules issues. The targeting bar is the biggest culprit for me.