Arcane Wonders Forum

Mage Wars => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: graf spee on February 14, 2014, 06:03:09 AM

Title: who owns a creature that has been brought back from the death?
Post by: graf spee on February 14, 2014, 06:03:09 AM
Hi,
If I play "rise again" or "animate dead" on a creature of opponent ,do I become the controller and owner of the creature?
Can I destroy it on the sacrificial altar?

Thanks
Title: Re: who owns a creature that has been brought back from the death?
Post by: jacksmack on February 14, 2014, 09:48:20 AM
Yes and Yes
Title: Re: who owns a creature that has been brought back from the death?
Post by: ACG on February 14, 2014, 09:50:50 AM
Hi,
If I play "rise again" or "animate dead" on a creature of opponent ,do I become the controller and owner of the creature?
Can I destroy it on the sacrificial altar?

Thanks

I'm pretty sure the player from whose spellbook the creature came is the owner, no matter what.

"The owner of a spell is the player who started with that spell in his spellbook at the beginning of the game".
Title: Re: who owns a creature that has been brought back from the death?
Post by: Zuberi on February 14, 2014, 11:17:31 AM
ACG is correct. You become the controller because you will be the one casting the creature with the reanimate effect. However the owner never changes. If the creature dies again it will go back to your opponent's discard pile and he will get to take it back home with him at the end of the game ;) .
Title: Re: who owns a creature that has been brought back from the death?
Post by: jacksmack on February 14, 2014, 12:18:34 PM
ACG is correct. You become the controller because you will be the one casting the creature with the reanimate effect. However the owner never changes. If the creature dies again it will go back to your opponent's discard pile and he will get to take it back home with him at the end of the game ;) .

Actually it is removed from game.

However... this means that you cannot use altar to sacrifice zombies.
Title: Re: who owns a creature that has been brought back from the death?
Post by: Zuberi on February 14, 2014, 12:37:54 PM
Correct on both accounts, a reanimated creature is removed from the game if it dies again, and he would not be able to use the altar on it if it came from his opponent (I completely missed the altar question my first look see).