Arcane Wonders Forum
Mage Wars => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: silverclawgrizzly on January 16, 2014, 01:11:43 PM
-
If a vampiress is flying around and someone casts Maim Wings on her, would she still be a legal target for it next round if I just didn't pay to have her flying again? If so would the card go away?
-
I don't think Maim Wings is limited to targets with Flying. In fact, the target line cannot be a creature with Flying because it would become an illegal target as soon as the Maim Wings took effect, and fall off.
-
First, the vampiress flying only last until the end of her action phase. Not the whole round.
Second, Maim Wing only require a Corporeal creature as target. So either NV is flying or not, she is legal, so the card wont go away.
Third, Maim Wing, unlike condition like Incapacited or Restrained, doesnt prevent to regain Flying trait. So if opponent reveal Maim Wing while you were flying, you will drop to the ground for this round because Maim Wing happened after that you gained Flying. But for next turns, you will gain Flying after Maim Wing effect, so you will be able to freely fly, while being immune to futur Maim Wing since you can only have 1 enchantment with the same name on an object.
I hope my english was good enough to be clear.
-
If you cast maim wings without revealing it and wait till the vampires activated her flying before you reveal, it will remove her flying for the turn. However the next turn she activates her flying the flying will have the newsy time stamp and over ride the maim wings. So at best maim wings will only affect the vampiress for one round. It is kind of a wasted cast.