Arcane Wonders Forum
Mage Wars => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: Esto on May 26, 2013, 09:03:05 AM
-
Your Mage casts "Earthquake" on "Renewing Spring" with 1 friendly creature & 3 enemy creatures in the same zone. Your Mage has 2 hidden enchantments --- "Nullify" & "Reverse Magic". What happens & does the "mandatory reveal" on both enchantments apply when the Mage does his Slam check?
-
I believe Earthquake targets the zones, not the creatures in them. Since Nullify/Reverse requires the mage to be targeted then nothing happens and you just check for slam.
-
page 23 of rule book (zone attacks")
"....abilities and traits that allow a target to react when it is attacked do not apply against zone attacks"
-
page 23 of rule book (zone attacks")
"....abilities and traits that allow a target to react when it is attacked do not apply against zone attacks"
Earthquake is not a zone attack, nor even an attack though.
Its an Incantation, and never actually performs an attack on the creatures.
-
Earthquake targets 1-2 Adjacent Zones, the effects on conjurations and creatures in those zones are incidental and do not imply that they are being targeted. Both Nullify and Reverse Magic state "When this creature is targeted" and since Earthquake does not target any individual creatures those enchantments are not activated.
As to whether the effects of Earthquake count as an Zone Attack, I'm not sure. It certainly sounds like a Zone Attack in every way except for the fact that it is an incantation and does not state that it is a Zone Attack. I assume it does not count as a Zone Attack, but that doesn't get around the fact that no individual creatures or conjurations are being targeted.
-
Nullify and Reverse Magic only activate when your Mage is targeted by an Incantation or Enchantment.
As Earthquake targets a Zone it does not trigger nullify or reverse.
And if Earthquake could perform attacks against creatures (it doesn't, it just puts a slam on them), this would also not trigger any Nullifies or Reverses.
-
Technically Nullify/Reverse Magic is triggered when whichever creature the Nullify/Reverse Magic is attached to is targeted by an incantation or enchantment spell controlled by the enemy mage (the mage that doesn't control the Nullify/Reverse Magic), but I agree that Earthquake wouldn't trigger Nullify/Reverse Magic regardless of who cast Earthquake.