May 04, 2024, 11:49:12 AM

Author Topic: elemental attack disparity  (Read 3776 times)

BrainJuggler

• New Mage
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
elemental attack disparity
« on: April 28, 2016, 09:35:26 AM »
Greetings all! I just started playing this game, my favorite mage is the Wizard, but when I started making spellbooks and choosing an element I noticed something. Fire, air, and earth all have similar attack spells, in fact their level 2s are the same except:

Earth: hurl boulder, 7 dmg, 8+ slam
Fire: fireball, 6 dmg, 4+ burn
Air: lightning bolt, 5 dmg, 6+ daze/stun, ethereal

Fire gives up 1 damage for burns and air gives up 2 damage for ethereal and daze/stun. This pattern repeats itself with hurl rock/flameblast/arc lightning, and most of their other attack spells, in general.

Fire giving up 1 damage for a burn is fine, but it looks like air comes out way behind in this deal. 50% daze/stun is nice, but they only last one turn. Earth's slam has a lower chance to hit, but the effects last 2 turns (slam -> daze). So air's only advantage is ethereal. Is that really worth -1 damage? There aren't *that* many incorporeal targets and wizard comes with arcane zap already.

Am I missing something or is air just a bad choice for wizards?

Coshade

• Arcane Duels Host
  • Administrator
  • Legendary Mage
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
    • Arcane Duels!
Re: elemental attack disparity
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2016, 10:21:27 AM »
First off welcome to the forums!

You have a really interesting analysis of how the attack spells work. I will let you know that right now air seems to be the least used of all the elements in my personal meta. The big advantage of air is the ability to get the daze/stun off while not having a super weak attack (unlike holy attack spells that have low dice but very high chance to get a daze/stun off).